Yaya Bey announces new album ‘Ten Fold’ & live shows, shares “chasing the bus” video

Yaya Bey has announced a new album, Ten Fold, due May 10 via Big Dada (pre-order). It’s the followup to 2022’s great Remember Your North Star and 2023’s Exodus the North Star EP.

The album includes Yaya’s two recent singles “the evidence” and “crying through my teeth,” as well as the just-released “chasing the bus.” It’s a dose of airy, laid-back neo-soul, and Yaya says, “‘chasing the bus’ has a double meaning. On the surface, it’s about being taken for granted in a romantic relationship. Being slept on and underestimated. But beyond the surface, it’s a metaphor for how I feel in so many spaces in the industry and it’s sort of an affirmation for myself or a reminder to let go of validation or the lack thereof. To exist regardless because I have to.” The song comes with a video that you can check out below.

Yaya has also announced that she’ll celebrate the album with four shows, beginning in her hometown at Brooklyn’s Elsewhere Hall on May 23, and then hitting DC, LA, and Philly after that. Tickets go on sale Friday (2/2) and there’s a Spotify presale underway now. All dates are listed below.

[embedded content]

Video Credits
Creative Director: Yaya Bey
Director: Chassidy David
Choreographer: Jason James and Alexandria Johnson
Photography: Nikita Freyermuth

Yaya Bey — 2024 Tour Dates
5/23 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere
5/25 – Washington, DC @ Union Stage
5/29 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Roxy Theatre
6/1 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live

1. crying through my teeth
2. the evidence
3. chrysanthemums
4. sir princess bad bitch
5. east coast mami
6. chasing the bus
7. all around los angeles
8. slow dancing in the kitchen
9. so fantastic (feat. Grand Daddy I.U.)
10. eric adams on the club (feat. Exaktly)
11. me and my niggas
12. iloveyoufrankiebeverly
13. career day
14. carl thomas sliding down the wall
15. yvette’s cooking show
16. let go