Tasha Announces New Album, Shares “The Beginning” Video: Watch

Chicago indie-rock and folk musician Tasha has announced a new album. Her third LP is titled All This and So Much More and arrives September 20 via Bayonet. Today, she’s sharing the lead single “The Beginning,” which comes with a music video directed by none other than Tomberlin. In the clip, Tasha goes for a long walk across New York to buy flowers, sits in an empty skatepark, and explores public parks. Watch her slice-of-life video below.

“As one of the first songs I wrote for this album, ‘The Beginning’ feels like an introduction to the journey of self-discovery I found myself on throughout the year to come (and in turn, the songs that emerged),” Tasha explained. “While the song touches on uncertainty, sadness, and a desire for connection, the very first line—‘This is not the end/it’s just the beginning’—encapsulates the sense of hope and possibility I continued to arrive at after it all. For me, there’s a lingering excitement at the end of Greg Uhlmann’s spinning guitar solo outro—it can be hard to see in the moment, but big endings are so often openings to adventures you haven’t even begun to imagine.”

All This and So Much More was produced by Gregory Uhlmann and follows Tasha’s 2021 full-length Tell Me What You Miss the Most. It finds Tasha reflecting on a period of growth up until 2023—right before she joined the Broadway cast of Illinoise, the Tony-winning dance musical by Justin Peck based on Sufjan Stevens’ 2005 album Illinois. In addition to “The Beginning,” her new 10-track LP also includes the song “Michigan.”

Read about Tasha in “What It’s Like to Be Black in Indie Music.”

All This and So Much More:

01 Pretend
02 The Beginning
03 Be Better
04 Good Song
05 Michigan
06 Party
07 Nina
08 Eric Song
09 So Much More
10 Love’s Changing