RJD2 announces new album: listen to “Through It All” ft. Jamie Lidell

RJD2 has announced a new album, Visions Out Of Limelight, which will be out June 14 via his own Electrical Connections label. The album was inspired by TV themes of the ’60s, ’70s, ’80s and ’90s. “I realized how incredibly composed and skillfully complex many of them were,“ he says.

Most of the album is instrumental, but first single “Through it All” features lead vocals from Jamie Lidell. “I was listening to some classic Aaliyah and taking in how Timbaland used amorphous mouth sounds as a textural element,” RJ says. “I put a bunch of ‘mouth water drop sounds’ into the MPC. From there, the song really built itself in the fashion you hear it – drums, chords, and vocals from the illustrious Jamie Lidell.”

You can watch the “Through it All” video, directed by his son, Charlie Kaiser-Krohn, below.

[embedded content]

Visions Out Of Limelight:
1. Cold Eggs
2. Catch The Exit Door
3. Through It All (Feat. Jamie Lidell)
4. What I Do, Man
5. Es El Nuevo Estilo
6. Resting On The One
7. Fools at the Haul (Feat. Jordan Brown)
8. Wild for the Night
9. Another Dime From Messoud
10. Apocalypse March
11. A Real Screamer
12. Full Time Move, Jack
13. Asphalt Lamentations