New Music: Ne-Yo ‘Apology’

Ne-Yo is sorry. In anticipation his seventh studio album Good Man, Ne-Yo unleashes the album’s latest single, “Apology.”

Over a piano-laden instrumental produced by Darhyl Camper Jr. and Devin Montgomery, the Gentleman fers his remorse for past transgressions.

“I cannot deny it,” he sings. “I done broke a few hearts, done my share lying / I knew how to keep it quiet, I knew how to hide it / Or if I ever did get caught, I’d just deny it / If my mama knew the things I did, she wouldn’t like it.”

Taking to Twitter, Ne-Yo explained the track’s meaning. “A lot women had to suffer heartache they didn’t deserve in order for me to become the man I am,” he wrote. “I can never undo my wrongs but at the very least I can say I’m sorry.”

To go along with the new cut, Ne-Yo also unveiled the Good Man tracklisting and cover art. The artwork features the evolution a butterfly behind Ne-Yo’s pensive portrait. PARTYNEXTDOOR, Romeo Santos, Eric Bellinger, and Candice Boyd all pop up on the 17-song LP. Three additional cuts show up on the deluxe version. Bebe Rexha and Stefflon Don appear on the single “Push Back.”

Good Man is due June 8.

Good Man Tracklisting

1. “Caterpillars 1st”
2. “1 More Shot”
3. “LA Nights”
4. “Nights Like These” feat. Romeo Santos
5. “U Deserve”
6. “Summertime”
7. “Push Back” feat. Bebe Rexha and Stefflon Don
8. “Breathe”
9. “On Your Mind” feat. PARTYNEXTDOOR
10. “Back Chapters”
11. “Hotbox” feat. Eric Bellinger
12. “Over U”
13. “Without U”
14. “Apology”
15. “Ocean Sure” feat. Candice Boyd and Sam Hook
16. “The Struggle…” (Interlude)
17. “Good Man”

Deluxe Bonus Songs
1. “Pour Me Up”
2. “Won’t Be Often”
3. “Reset the Night”